7. The Jura region

#7 The Jura Region



The region “Jura & Three-Lakes” is famous for its great variety of landscapes, its intact and well-protected nature, its history and rich architectural heritage which is often related to the watch-making industry.

The spacious canton of Jura, situated at an altitude of 1000 m, is the meeting place of man and horse. Rivers flow gently along plains and hills, then tumble into impressive gorges.

Click here on My Switzerland website to get more info.


Fribourg is the capital of the Swiss canton of Fribourg and the district of Sarine. It is located on both sides of the river Saane/Sarine, on the Swiss plateau, and is an important economic, administrative and educational center on the cultural border between German and French Switzerland.

Its Old City, one of the best maintained in Switzerland, sits on a small rocky hill above the valley of the Sarine.

Click here to find out more about this region.


Neuchâtel, Old French: neu “new” + chatel “castle” is the capital of the Swiss canton of Neuchâtel on Lake Neuchâtel. Lake Neuchâtel is a lake primarily in Romandy, Switzerland. The lake lies mainly in the canton of Neuchâtel, but is also shared by the cantons of Vaud, of Fribourg, and of Bern

Boat cruise enthusiasts can experience all three lakes at the periphery of the Jura – lakes Biel, Murten and Lac de Neuchâtel – on a leisurely, four-hour cruise.

Click here for more info